How to get a handicap parking permit in South Dakota (SD)

South Dakota handicapped parking sign with details of the penalty for offenders

South Dakota handicapped parking sign

Eligibility
How to obtain a permit
Fee
Validity / expiration of permits
Renewals
Lost, stolen, or damaged placards
Where to hang the placard

Who’s eligible?

A person is eligible to receive a disabled parking placard if he or she

  • cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest;
  • uses portable oxygen;
  • has a cardiac condition to the extent that his or her functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or IV according to the American Heart Association leaflet “The Functional and Therapeutic Classifications of Patients with Diseases of the Heart” (printed June 1, 1990);
  • is severely limited in his or her ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition;
  • is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that his or her forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for 1 second (when measured by spirometry) is less than 1 liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest; or
  • cannot walk without the use of or assistance from a brace, crutch, cane, wheelchair, prosthetic device, another person, or another assistive device.

Blindness or impaired vision by itself is not a valid criterion to receive disabled reserved parking privileges.

Nursing facilities, nonprofit organizations, hospitals, retirement homes, and educational institutions that care for people with disabilities may obtain a permit to transport such individuals by may only park  in a disabled reserved parking space long enough to load or unload passengers.

How to obtain a permit

Applicants must complete the Physically Disabled Parking Permits and License Plate application (SD Eform-0865 V7), which must be submitted to the local county treasurer’s office.

Fee

There is no fee for handicap parking placards.

Validity/expiration of placards/permits

Permanent placards are issued for more than 1 year and not to exceed 5 years. Temporary placards are issued for less than 1 year.

Renewing placards

Permanent placards, which must be renewed every 5 years, can be renewed up to 90 days before the expiration date printed on the permit; no doctor certification is required.

Temporary placards can only be renewed if a physician certifies that the person’s disability is not permanent but will last longer than the one-year issuance limit allowed on the temporary permit.

Lost placard/replacement

Those looking to replace lost, stolen, or damaged placards must complete the Application For Physically Disabled Parking Permit and License Plates, which must then be submitted to the local county treasurer’s office. Applicants who were issued more than one placard initially must provide the placard number of the remaining or second placard. Those with deteriorated placards must submit them along with the application.

Where to hang the placard/permit

The placard must be hung from the rear view mirror when the vehicle is parked in a designated parking space. It must be duly removed when the vehicle is in motion.

Difficulty

Source URL

Procedure to Apply For a Disability Parking Permit
Application For Physically Disabled Parking Permit And License Plates (PDF Form)

 

Things You’ll Need

Applicable Fee: No charge
Computer with Internet Access: Favorable but not mandatory
Physician Certificate: Physician to certify disability in the application form
Mail Original Documents: Original application to be submitted in person

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Top