How to get a handicap parking permit in Ohio (OH)

Ohio handicapped parking sign with details of the penalty for offenders

Ohio handicapped parking sign with details of the penalty for offenders

Eligibility
How to obtain a permit
Fee
Validity / expiration of permits
Renewals
Lost, stolen, or damaged placards
Where to hang the placard

Who’s eligible?

A person may receive a disabled parking placard if he or she

  • cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest;
  • uses portable oxygen;
  • cannot walk without the use of or assistance from a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair or other assistive device;
  • is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the person’s forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for 1 second, when measured by spirometry, is less than 1 liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 millimeters of mercury on room air at rest;
  • has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person’s functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or IV according to standards set by the American Heart Association;
  • is severely limited in the ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition; or
  • is blind.

Disability placards may also be issued to organizations (public or private) that transport persons with disabilities on a regular basis in a motor vehicle that has not been altered with special equipment for use by persons with disabilities.

How to obtain a permit

Individuals must complete and sign Form BMV 4826. It must be accompanied by a prescription from a health care provider that states the date, name of the person with the disability, and the expected duration of the disabling condition. The health care provider must sign the prescription and state that it is for a disability placard.

Applicants may find the form online, at any local deputy registrar license agency, or by calling (614) 752-7800 or (800) 589-TAGS. Once it’s been completed, applicants may drop it and the required processing fee of $3.50 off at any local deputy registrar license agency or mail it to

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Attn.: Registration
Remittance Processing Section
P.O. Box 16521
Columbus, OH 43216-6521
Fee

There is a $3.50 processing fee for all placards.

Validity/expiration of placards/permits

Temporary (red in color) and permanent (blue in color) placards expire on the date prescribed by the health care provider.

Renewing placards

Temporary placards cannot be renewed. Renewal applications are mailed 60 days prior to the expiration date for permanent placard holder (individuals and organizations).

Lost placard/replacement

Applicants whose placards are lost or stolen may replace their placards by completing Form BMV 4826. As long as the prescription is still current, no health care provider would need to fill it out, and the applicant can submit it along with a $3.50 processing fee to any local deputy registrar license agency or  the address listed above.

Where to hang the placard/permit

The placard must be hung from the rear view mirror so that it is visible from the front and rear windshield of the vehicle.

Difficulty

Source URL

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles – Disability Placards
Disability Rights Ohio – Disability Parking Permits

Things You’ll Need

Applicable Fee: $3.50 for a disabled parking permit
Computer with Internet Access: Favorable but not mandatory
Physician Certificate: Physician to certify disability in the form of prescription
Mail Original Documents: Original application to be submitted in person or by mail

 

 

Top