How to get a handicap parking permit in New Hampshire (NH)

New Hampshire handicapped parking sign with details of the penalty for offenders

New Hampshire handicapped parking sign

Eligibility
How to obtain a permit
Fee
Validity / expiration of permits
Renewals
Lost, stolen, or damaged placards
Where to hang the placard

Who’s eligible?

A person is eligible to receive a disabled parking placard if he or she

  • uses portable oxygen;
  • has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person’s functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or IV according to the standards set by the American Heart Association;
  • is  severely limited in the ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, orthopedic, or other medically disabling condition;
  • is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the person’s forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for 1 second, when measured by spirometry, is less than 1 liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest; or
  • cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assistive device.
How to obtain a permit

To obtain a placard, the Application for Walking Disability Privileges must be completed an signed by both the applicant and a physician. It must include a brief description of the medical condition and how it limits or impairs the applicant’s ability to walk. The form must then be mailed to

NH Dept. of Safety
DMV – Registration
23 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
Fee

There is no fee for a disability placard.

Validity/expiration of placards/permits

Permanent placards are valid for 5 years; temporary placards are valid for 6 months.

Renewing placards

To renew a placard, applicants follow the same procedure as required for the initial issuance of the placard. It is recommended that this be done in the first or second week of the month in which the placard will expire.

Lost placard/replacement

Applicants must mail a letter to the DMV stating that their placard has either been lost or stolen. The letter should include the placard holder’s name, address, date of birth, and a phone number. For applicants with two placards, the letter must list the number shown on the remaining placard so that the the DMV can invalidate the missing placard. If both placards are lost or stolen, the letter must also relay that information.

Where to hang the placard/permit

The placard must be removed from the rear view mirror when the vehicle is in motion.

Difficulty

Source URL

Information on Walking Disability and Placards from the DMV

 

Things You’ll Need

Applicable Fee: No charge
Computer with Internet Access: Favorable but not mandatory
Physician Certificate: Physician to certify disability in the application form
Mail Original Documents: Original application to be submitted in person or by mail

Top