How to get a handicap parking permit in South Carolina (SC)

South Carolina handicapped parking sign with details of the penalty for offenders

South Carolina handicapped parking sign

Eligibility
How to obtain a permit
Fee
Validity / expiration of permits
Renewals
Lost, stolen, or damaged placards
Where to hang the placard

Who’s eligible?

Persons eligible for placards include individuals who demonstrate

  • an ability to ordinarily walk 100 feet nonstop without aggravating an existing medical condition, including the increase of pain;
  • an ability to ordinarily walk without the use of, or assistance from a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assistive device;
  • a restriction by lung disease to the extent that the person’s forced expiratory volume for one second when measured by spirometry is less than 1 liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest;
  • requires use of portable oxygen;
  • a cardiac condition to the extent that the person’s functional limitations are classified in severity as Class II or IV according to standards established by the American Heart Association. If the person’s status improves to a higher level (for example, as a result of a bypass surgery or transplantation), she or he no longer meets this criterion; or
  • a substantional limitation in the ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition, for example, coordination problems and muscle spasticity due to conditions that include Parkinson’s disease, cerebral palsy, or multiple sclerosis; or
  • blindness.
How to obtain a placard

Individuals must apply using Form RG-007A; businesses must apply using Form RG-007B. Both forms are available here (A) and here (B)

All applicants must have a current driver’s license, beginner permit, or identification card photo on file with the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (SCDMV). No placards can be issued without a photo ID. A registration certificate is issued with each placard and must remain with the disabled person when the placard is issued.

Completed forms should be mailed to the address below, along with a check or money order for $1 payable to the SCDMV. The office does not accept cash.

SC Department of Motor Vehicles
PO Box 1498
Blythewood, SC 29016-0019
Fee

Placards are issued for a $1 fee.

Validity/expiration of placards/permits

Permanent placards are valid for 4 years. Temporary placards are issued for a period not to exceed 1 year.

Renewing placards

To renew a placard, applicants must repeat the process they followed at initial issuance of the placard, which means recertification of their disability. Applicants will also need to have a photo ID on file at the DMV.

Lost placard/replacement

Lost, stolen, or damaged placards can be replaced via the process followed at initial issuance of the placard or by visiting a local DMV office.

Where to hang the placard/permit

The placard must be hung from the rear view mirror so that it is visible from the front and rear windshield of the vehicle.

Difficulty

Source URL

South Carolina Deparment of Motor Vehicles: Disabled placards and plates
Disabled Placard and Plate Factsheet

 

Things You’ll Need

Applicable Fee: $1.00 for a disabled parking permit
Computer with Internet Access: Favorable but not mandatory
Physician Certificate: Physician to certify disability in the application form
Mail Original Documents: Original application to be submitted by mail

 

 

 

 

Top