How to get a handicap parking permit in Washington (WA)

Washington handicapped parking sign with details of the penalty for offenders

Washington handicapped parking sign

Eligibility
How to obtain a permit
Fee
Validity / expiration of permits
Renewals
Lost, stolen, or damaged placards
Where to hang the placard
Miscellaneous

Who’s eligible?

A person is eligible to receive a disabled parking placard if he or she

  • cannot walk 200 feet  without stopping to rest;
  • uses portable oxygen;
  • is severely limited in ability to walk due to arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition;
  • cannot walk without the use of an assistive device;
  • is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that forced expiratory respiratory volume, when measured by spirometry, is less than 1 liter per second, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest;
  • has Class III or IV  impairment by cardiovascular disease;
  • has a disability resulting from acute sensitivity to automobile emissions, which limits or impairs the ability to walk and the severity of this disability is comparable to the other conditions listed above;
  • is restricted by a form of porphyria to the extent that the applicant would significantly benefit from a decrease in exposure to light; or
  • is legally blind with limited mobility.
How to obtain a permit

Applicants must complete the Disabled Parking Application for Individuals and provide a written prescription from a healthcare provider. Submissions may be done in person at any vehicle licensing office (except Schmidt Insurance Service in Odessa) or by mail to

Individuals with Disabilities
Department of Licensing
PO Box 9043
Olympia WA 98507-9043
 
Fee

Placards are free.

Validity/expiration of placards/permits

Permanent placards are valid for 5 years. Temporary placards are issued for up to 12 months.

Renewing placards

If a permanent placard is current or expired for less than 31 days, placard holders must sign the reminder sent to them or write and sign a letter stating the need for disabled parking privileges. Recertification of disability is not required.

If a permanent placard has been expired for 31 days or more, placard holders must follow the same procedure for the initial issuance of the placard.

In both cases, the application can be submitted in person at any vehicle licensing office (except Schmidt Insurance Service in Odessa) or by mail to the address listed above.

Temporary placards are non-renewable. If the disability persists after the placard’s expiration, a new application is required.

Lost placard/replacement

Placards can be replaced at most licensing offices.

Where to hang the placard/permit

The placard must be hung from the front rear view mirror and fully visible through the windshield.

Miscellaneous

Placards must be immediately returned to the department in the event of a placard owner’s death.

Difficulty

Source URL

Applying for disabled parking placard
Applying for a permanent permit
Applying for a temporary permit

Things You’ll Need

Applicable Fee: No charge
Computer with Internet Access: Favorable but not mandatory
Physician Certificate: Physician to certify disability in the application form
Mail Original Documents: Original application to be submitted in person or by mail

Top