How to get a handicap parking permit in Kansas (KS)

Kansas handicapped parking sign with details of the penalty for offenders

Kansas handicapped parking sign with details of the penalty for offenders

Eligibility
How to obtain a permit
Fee
Validity / expiration of permits
Renewals
Lost, stolen, or damaged placards
Where to hang the placard
Miscellaneous

Who’s eligible?

Persons eligible for placards include individuals who

  • are unable to walk 100 feet at length without aggravating an existing medical condition including an upsurge in pain;
  • unable to walk without using an assisting device such as a brace, crutches, prosthetic device, wheelchair, another person, etc.;
  • use portable oxygen;
  • suffer from a lung disease that is restrictive to the extent that the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest, or when the forced expiratory volume for one second is less than one liter when measured through spirometry;
  • have severe visual impairment but nonetheless are eligible for a driver’s license;
  • have a class III or class IV cardiac condition;
  • suffer from an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition that severely limits their ability to walk.
How to obtain a permit

The applicant/representative/vehicle owner must complete and submit the Certification of Disability for Disabled Parking Placard and/or Plate Form TR-159 at the County Treasurer’s Motor Vehicle Office. The application can be obtained online. The top part of the application must be completed by the applicant while the bottom part must be filled in by a licensed health care professional (check application for qualification) certifying the disability.

Fee

Placards are issued at no fee.

Validity/expiration of placards/permits

A permanent placard (blue) is valid for 3 years while a temporary placard (red) is valid for 6 months.

Renewing your placard

A holder of a permanent placard must submit a proof of continued disability every 3 years for renewal of the placard. Temporary placards can be renewed at your local county treasurer’s motor vehicle office.

Lost placard/replacement

Applicants who wish to obtain a replacement placard must fill out the Disabled Identification Application. Recertification of disability is not required.

Where to hang the placard/permit

The permanent or temporary disabled placard must be suspended from rear view mirror when using disabled parking privileges and may be transferred from one vehicle to another. The placard is to be removed from the rear view mirror when the vehicle is being operated.

Miscellaneous

When parking at a metered parking space with a disability plate or disability placard displayed, there is an exemption from parking fees for up to 24 hours.

Source URL

Certification of Disability for Disabled Parking Placard and/or Plate (PDF Form)
Self Certification of Continued Eligibility for Disabled Parking Privilege (PDF Form)
How to get a Disabled Parking Plate/Placard

 

Things You’ll Need

Applicable Fee: No charge
Computer with Internet Access: Favorable but not mandatory
Physician Certificate: Physician to certify disability in the application form
Mail Original Documents: Original application to be submitted in person or by mail

 

Top