How to get a handicap parking permit in Georgia (GA)

Georgia-handicap-parking-permit-signs

Georgia handicapped parking sign with details of the penalty for offender

Eligibility
How to obtain a permit
Fee
Validity / expiration of permits
Renewals
Lost, stolen, or damaged placards
Where to hang the placard

Who’s eligible?

Eligible applicants are those whose doctor can certify any of the following disabilities based on criteria set forth by Georgia law:

  • hearing impairment;
  • inability to walk 200 feet without stopping to rest;
  • inability to walk without assistance or use of a wheelchair;
  • lung disease or severe breathing difficulty;
  • uses portable oxygen;
  • severe cardiac condition;
  • blindness; or
  • limited walking ability due to arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition or complications due to pregnancy.
How to obtain a permit

The applicant must complete a Disabled Person’s Parking Affidavit (MV-9D form) and submit it in person to the local county tag office. The form must include certification of disability by the applicant’s doctor.

Fee

Placards for individuals with permanent disability, temporary disability, and disabled drivers in specially equipped vehicles are free.

Validity/expiration of placards/permits

A permanent parking placard is issued for 4 years after which it must be renewed.

Renewing your permit/placard

A Disabled Person’s Parking Affidavit must be submitted every 4 years for renewal after a permanent disabled parking placard expires. Applicants must submit the form in person to the local county tag office.

Lost placard/replacement

Applicants who wish to replace a lost placard must complete the Disabled Person’s Parking Affidavit and submit it in person to the local county tag office.

Where to hang the placard/permit

The placard must be displayed on the rearview mirror when the vehicle is stationary but removed when the vehicle is in motion.

Difficulty

Source URL

Georgia Department of Drivers Services
Disabled Person’s Parking Affidavit

Things You’ll Need

Applicable Fee: No charge
Computer with Internet Access: Favorable but not mandatory
Physician Certificate: Physician to certify disability in the application form
Mail Original Documents: Original application to be submitted in person or by mail

 

Top