How to get a handicap parking permit in Wyoming (WY)

Wyoming handicapped parking sign with details of the penalty for offenders

Wyoming handicapped parking sign

Eligibility
How to obtain a permit
Fee
Validity / expiration of permits
Renewals
Lost, stolen, or damaged placards
Where to hang the placard

Who’s eligible?

A person is eligible to receive a disabled parking placard if he or she

  • is unable to walk 200 feet without stopping to rest;
  • is restricted by lung disease to extent that forced expiratory volume for 1 second is less than 1 liter when measured by spirometry, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest;
  • cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from, a brace,  cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair or other assistive devices;
  • uses portable oxygen;
  • has a cardiac condition to the degree that his or her functional limitations are classified in severity as class III or IV;
  • is severely limited in their ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition; or
  • has a severe visual or audio handicap.
How to obtain a permit

Applicants must complete an Application for Handicap Vehicle Identification Placard, which can be submitted in person at any local DOT office or mailed to

Wyoming Department of Transportation
Driver Services Program – Medical Review
5300 Bishop Blvd.
Cheyenne, WY 82009-3340
Fee

Placards are free.

Validity/expiration of placards/permits

Permanent placards are issued for a minimum of 12 months and may be valid for up to 10 years. Temporary placards are valid for 6 months.

Renewing placards

Permanent and temporary placard holders can renew their placards by following the same procedure at initial issuance.

Lost placard/replacement

Holders of permanent placards must provide a written statement about the loss, theft, or damage of their placard. This statement can be dropped off at any local DOT office or mailed to the address above.

Holders of temporary placards must follow the same procedure at initial issuance of their placard in order to replace those that are lost, stolen, or damaged.

Where to hang the placard/permit

The placard shall be suspended from the rear view mirror inside the vehicle when parked in a designated parking
space so as to be in plain view of any person looking through the windshield of the vehicle from the sidewalk or
roadside. Do not suspend it from the rear view mirror when the vehicle is being driven.

For motor vehicles without a rear view mirror, the placard shall be displayed on the dashboard of the parked vehicle on the side nearest the curb or roadside.

Source URL

Information about Disabled Parking Permits and Placards

Difficulty

 

Things You’ll Need

Applicable Fee: No charge
Computer with Internet Access: Favorable but not mandatory
Physician Certificate: Physician to certify disability in the application form
Mail Original Documents: Original application to be submitted in person or by mail

 

 

Top