How to get a handicap parking permit in Texas (TX)

Texas handicapped parking sign with details of the penalty for offenders

Texas handicapped parking sign

Eligibility
How to obtain a permit
Fee
Validity / expiration of permits
Renewals
Lost, stolen, or damaged placards
Where to hang the placard
Miscellaneous

Who’s eligible?

Persons who meet the legal definition of disability are eligible. “Disability” means a condition in which a person has

  • visual acuity of 20/200 or less in the better eye with correcting licenses;
  • visual acuity of more than 20/200 but with a limited field of vision in which the widest diameter of the visual field subtends an angle of 20 degrees or less; or
  • mobility problems that substantially impair a person’s ability to move around. These problems can be caused by paralysis, lung disease, cardiac deficiency, wheelchair confinement, arthritis, foot disorder, or other medical conditions causing a person to use a brace, cane, crutch or other assistive device.

A more specific description of “disability” is also available on the application form for a disabled parking placard, which is available online.

How to obtain a permit

Applicants must ask their doctor or health care provider to complete the disability statement section of Form VTR-214, which is available online. The completed application and any applicable fees must be submitted to the local county tax office.

Fee

Permanent placards are issued at no fee. Temporary placards are issued for fee of $5.

Validity/expiration of placards/permits

Permanent placards (blue) are valid for 4 years. Temporary placards (red) are issued for a maximum of 6 months or the time the disability ends, whichever is earlier.

Renewing placards

To renew a permanent placard, disabled individuals must complete and sign the affidavit portion (not the disability statement) of Form VTR-214, which should be submitted, along with the copy of the original application, to the county tax office. Applicants who do not have a copy of the original application can submit the expiring placard instead.

Temporary placard holders must apply for a new placard if the disability extends beyond the 6-month limit.

Lost placard/replacement

To replace a lost or stolen placard, placard holders must submit a photocopy of their original application (Form VTR-214) to the local county tax assessor collector office. Those without a photocopy of the original application and/or if the office cannot verify the placard that was issued, individuals will have to apply for a new placard.

Where to hang the placard/permit

The placard must be hung from the rear view mirror of the vehicle a disabled individual is traveling in. The placard should be displayed only when the vehicle is parked in a disabled parking space (stationary) and should be removed when the vehicle is in motion.

Miscellaneous

People with temporary (red) must park their vehicle in red spaces unless there are only blue spaces available. People with permanent placards (blue) may park in red or blue spaces.

Difficulty

Source URL

Disabled parking, placards, and plates

Things You’ll Need

Applicable Fee: $5.00 for a temporary placard
Computer with Internet Access: Favorable but not mandatory
Physician Certificate: Physician to certify disability in the application form
Mail Original Documents: Original application to be submitted in person

Top