How to get a handicap parking permit in Nevada (NV)

Nevada-handicap-parking-permit-signs

Nevada handicapped parking sign with details of the penalty for offenders

Eligibility
How to obtain a permit
Fee
Validity / expiration of permits
Renewals
Lost, stolen, or damaged placards
Where to hang the placard

Who’s eligible?

A person is eligible to receive a disabled parking placard if he or she

  • cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest;
  • uses portable oxygen;
  • has a cardiac condition to the extent that functional limitations are classified as Class III or IV according to standards adopted by the American Heart Association;
  • is severely limited in the ability to walk because of an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition;
  • is restricted by a lung disease;
  • is visually handicapped; or
  • cannot walk without the use of a brace, crutch, cane, wheelchair, other device, or another person.
How to obtain a permit

Applicants must complete and sign the Application for Disabled Persons License Plates/Placards (SP 27) and have a licensed physician complete and sign its bottom half. The form must then be mailed to the address listed on it, faxed to (775) 684-4797, or dropped off at a DMV full service office.

Fee

Placards for disabled persons are free of charge.

Validity/expiration of placards/permits

Permanent placards are valid for 10 years, placards for moderate disability are valid for 2 years, and temporary placards are valid for up to 6 months.

Renewing placards

To renew a temporary placard or a moderate placard, applicants must submit a new application and have a new physician’s signature certifying the disability. No renewal notices are mailed, and applicants are encouraged to order by mail.

Permanent placard holders will be mailed a renewal notice . Recertification of disability is not required, and applicants are required to fill only the top half of the notice.

Lost placard/replacement

Applicants need to contact their local DMV for information on how to replace a lost placard.

Where to hang the placard/permit

The placard must be hung from the rear view mirror when the vehicle is parked in the designated parking space.

Source URL

Disabled Parking Laws, Information, and Application

 

Things You’ll Need

Applicable Fee: A reasonable fee may be charged
Computer with Internet Access: Favorable but not mandatory
Physician Certificate: Physician to certify disability in the application form
Mail Original Documents: Original application to be submitted in person or by mail

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Top