How to get a handicap parking permit in Missouri (MO)

Missouri handicapped parking sign with details of the penalty for offenders

Missouri handicapped parking sign with details of the penalty for offenders

Eligibility
How to obtain a permit
Fee
Validity / expiration of permits
Renewals
Lost, stolen, or damaged placards
Where to hang the placard

Who’s eligible?

A permanent placard is issued to any physically disabled person, the parent or guardian for him or her, or a not-for-profit group or organization that transports more than one physically disabled individual.

A physically disabled person is defined as someone who

  • cannot ambulate or walk 50 feet without stopping to rest due to a severe and disabling arthritic, neurological, orthopedic condition, or other severe and disabling condition;
  • cannot ambulate or walk without the use of, or assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assistive device;
  • is restricted by a respiratory or other disease to such an extent that the person’s forced respiratory expiratory volume for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest;
  • uses portable oxygen;
  • has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person’s functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to the standards set by the American Heart Association; or
  • is blind.
How to obtain a permit

Applicants must complete the Application for Disabled Person Placard (Form 2769). The applicant’s licensed physician, physician’s assistant, podiatrist, chiropractor, advanced practice registered nurse, or optometrist must also complete a Physician’s Statement for Disabled Person’s Plates/Placard (Form 1776).

The forms are available at the local license office or online. Once they’re completed, applicants can submit them, along with any required fees, to the local license office or mail them to

Motor Vehicle Bureau
PO Box 100
Jefferson City, MO 651005-0100
Fee

Permanent placards are free. Temporary placards are issued for a fee of $2.00.

Validity/expiration of placards/permits

Permanent placards issued before January 1, 2008, expire September 30th of the second year from the date of issue. Permanent placards issued after January 1, 2008, expire September 30th of the fourth year from the date of issue. Temporary placards are valid for 180 days.

Renewing placards

Permanent placard holders are mailed a renewal notice every four years at their most current address on record. Placard holders 75 years of age or older do not require a physician’s recertification of disability and only have to mark the appropriate box in the renewal notice, sign it, and submit it at the local license office or mail it to Missouri central office.

If recertification of disability is required, applicants must have their medical professional fill a new Form 1776. They must then sign it and submit it at the local license office or mail it to Missouri central office.

Temporary placards can only be renewed once. Applicant must complete a new form DOR-2769 and DOR-1776. The fee for renewal is $2.00.

Lost placard/replacement

To replace a lost, stolen, damaged, or destroyed placard, the placard holder must submit a notarized Application for Disabled Person Placard  along with a copy of the latest validated receipt for the original placard. Both may be submitted at the local license office or mailed to the address above.

Applicants who are unable to locate their latest validated receipt for the original placard may be required to have their physician complete a new Form 1776, which must be submitted with the application.

The fee for replacing temporary placards is $4.

Where to hang the placard

The placard must be hung from the rear view mirror when the vehicle is parked in the designated parking space.

Difficulty

Source URL

Eligibility for a Permanent Disabled Parking Placard
Eligibility for a Temporary Disabled Parking Placard
Information on Disabled Placards by Department of Revenue

 

Things You’ll Need

Applicable Fee: $2.00 for a temporary placard
Computer with Internet Access: Favorable but not mandatory
Physician Certificate: Physician to certify disability on a form other than the application.
Mail Original Documents: Original application to be submitted in person or by mail

 

Top