How to get a handicap parking permit in Mississippi (MS)

Mississippi handicapped parking sign with details of the penalty for offenders

Mississippi handicapped parking sign with details of the penalty for offenders

Eligibility
How to obtain a permit
Fee
Validity / expiration of permits
Renewals
Lost, stolen, or damaged placards
Where to hang the placard

Who’s eligible?

A person is eligible to receive a disabled parking placard if he or she

  • cannot walk 200 feet at length without stopping to rest;
  • uses portable oxygen;
  • has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person’s functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to standards set by the American Heart Association;
  • is severely limited in his or her ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition;
  • is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the person’s forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for 1 second, when measured by spirometry, is less than 1 liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest;
  • cannot walk without the use of an assistive device.
How to obtain a permit

The applicant must submit a Mississippi Disabled Parking Application (Form 76-104) to the county tax collector. The application must be completed by a licensed physician or nurse practitioner certifying the disability.

Fee

There is no fee for placards.

Validity/expiration of placards/permits

Permanent placards are issued for 5 years, while temporary placards are valid for a period of 6 months.

Renewing placards

Permanent placards can be renewed upon expiration. Temporary placards may also be renewed, but applicants must resubmit a Mississippi Disabled Parking Application.

Lost placard/replacement

Applicants must submit an affidavit stating that their placard has been lost or stolen. The affidavit form is available at the local tax collector office.

Where to hang the placard/permit

The placard must be hung from the rearview mirror of the vehicle when parked in a disabled space. It must be duly removed when the vehicle is in motion.

Source URL

 Motor Vehicle FAQs

 

Things You’ll Need

Applicable Fee: No charge
Computer with Internet Access: Favorable but not mandatory
Physician Certificate: Physician to certify disability in the application form
Mail Original Documents: Original application to be submitted in person or by mail

Top