How to get a handicap parking permit in Maryland (MD)

Maryland Handicapped parking sign with details of the penalty for offenders

Maryland Handicapped parking sign with details of the penalty for offenders

Eligibility
How to obtain a permit
Fee
Validity / expiration of permits
Renewals
Lost, stolen, or damaged placards
Where to hang the placard

Who’s eligible?

Individuals eligible for permanent placards include those who

  • have  lung disease to such an extent that forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter, or arterial oxygen tension (pO2) is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest;
  • have cardiovascular disease limitations classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to the standards set by the American Heart Association;
  • are unable to walk 200 feet without stopping to rest;
  • are unable to walk without the use of, or assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, or other assistance device;
  • require a wheelchair for mobility;
  • have lost an arm, hand, foot, or leg;
  • lost the use of an arm, hand, foot, or leg;
  • have a permanent disability that adversely impacts the ambulatory ability of the applicant and which is so severe that they would endure a hardship or be subject to a risk or injury if the privileges accorded a person from whom a vehicle is specially registered were denied; or
  • have a permanent impairment of both eyes so that: (1) The central vision acuity is 20/200 or less in the better eye, with corrective glasses, or (2) There is a field defect in which the peripheral field has contracted to such an extent that the widest diameter of visual field subtends an angular distance no greater than 20 degrees in the better eye.

Temporary placards are issued to those with a disability that is not permanent but which would substantially impair that person’s mobility or limit or impair their ability to walk for at least 3 weeks and is so severe that they would endure a hardship or be subject to risk of injury if a temporary placard was denied.

How to obtain a permit

Applicants must complete Form VR-210 (Maryland Parking Placards/License Plates for Individuals with a Disability). It may also be obtained:

  • at any MVA branch office (excluding Oakland);
  • by calling MVA’s Customer Service Center at (410) 768-7000;
  • by phoning MVA’s Fax on Demand System at (410) 424-3050 and requesting catalogue #15; or
  • by TTY for the hearing impaired at 1 (800) 492-4575.

The form and appropriate fees can be submitted in person to the local MVA office (except Oakland) or mailed to:

MVA
Disability Unit, Rm. 202
6601 Ritchie Highway
Glen Burnie, MD 21062

 

Do not mail cash.

Should the applicant wish to have the placard mailed, then the doctor may fax a certified application to (410) 787-7840. The MVA office will not accept the certification if it was faxed to the individual; it must be faxed directly to the MVA by the doctor’s office.

Fee

There is no fee for placards.

Validity/expiration of placards/permits

A permanent placard is valid for 4 years. A temporary placard is valid for a minimum of 3 weeks and a maximum 6 months.

Renewing placards

Permanent placard owners will receive a notice for renewal by mail. They must verify the information on the renewal notice, state the change in address or mailing address, sign the application, and mail it to the address provided above.

Lost placard/replacement

Placard holders must report the stolen or lost placard to the local law enforcement agency, which will provide a police report number. That number, along with the reporting jurisdiction, must be noted on Form VR-210, which the applicant must complete.

Applicants can then either submit the form in person at the express office (except in Oakland) and receive their replacement placards there. The form can also be mailed with the appropriate fee to the address listed above. Do not mail cash.

Where to hang the placard/permit

The placard must be hung from the rear view mirror or, in the absence of one, on top of dashboard on the driver’s side. The placard must be displayed so that it shows the expiration date. It must be removed from the rear view mirror when the vehicle is in motion.

Individuals with disabilities who have been issued a placard must always keep a copy of their medical certification with them whenever they travel. This copy should be presented upon the request of a law enforcement officer.

Difficulty

Source URL

Information for Maryland Motorists With Disabilities

 

Things You’ll Need

Applicable Fee : No charge
Computer with Internet Access : Favorable but not mandatory
Physician Certificate : Physician to certify disability in the application form
Mail Original Documents : Original application to be submitted in person or by mail

 

Top