How to get a handicap parking permit in Louisiana (LA)

Louisiana handicapped parking sign with details of the penalty for offenders

Louisiana handicapped parking sign

Eligibility
How to obtain a permit
Fee
Validity / expiration of permits
Renewals
Lost, stolen, or damaged placards
Where to hang the placard

Who’s eligible?

A person is eligible to receive a disabled hang tag if he or she

  • cannot walk 200 feet at length without stopping to rest;
  • uses portable oxygen;
  • cannot walk without the assistance of another person, walker, cane, crutches, braces, prosthetic device, or wheelchair. This includes individuals who are blind or are so visually impaired that they require the assistance of another person to walk;
  • is restricted by a lung disease to such an extent that his or her forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one half liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest;
  • has a cardiac condition to the extent that his or her functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to standards set by the American Heart Association; or
  • has a diagnosed disease or disorder, including a severe arthritic, neurological or orthopedic impairment, that creates a severe mobility limitation.
How to obtain a hang tag

Applicants must provide a Medical Examiner’s Certification of Mobility Impairment form (DPSMV 1966). A faxed copy is acceptable if it is faxed from the doctor’s office. A medical examiner is defined as a person licensed to practice medicine or chiropractic by the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, Louisiana State Board of Chiropractic Examiners, Louisiana State State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, or an advanced practice registered nurse.

Applicants who cannot drop the form off at a Motor Vehicle Office must also submit a color photograph with the application materials.

Fee

There is a $3.00 fee for all placards, including permanent, temporary, renewal, lost, stolen, or damaged.

Validity/expiration of placards/permits

Permanent placards are valid for up to 4 years. Temporary placards are issued for up to 1 year.

Renewing placards

Permanent placards do not require recertification for renewal. Renewals for temporary placards require a currently dated medical examiner’s statement.

Lost placard/replacement

Eligible individuals can apply for a new placard, in the event the old one is lost, stolen, or damaged, by making an application stating the condition of the placard and paying a fee of $3.00 at the local DMV office. Those who are physically incapable of visiting the local DMV office can have a representative apply for them. It should be someone who can sufficiently answer questions related to the applicant’s impairment.

Where to hang the placard/permit

The placards are designed to be hung from the vehicle’s front windshield rear view mirror. When there is no rear view mirror, the hang tag may be displayed on the vehicle’s dashboard.

Difficulty

Source URL

Hang tags for mobility impaired persons

Things You’ll Need

Applicable Fee: $3.00 for a disabled parking permit
Computer with Internet Access: Favorable but not mandatory
Physician Certificate: Physician to certify disability in the application form
Mail Original Documents: Original application to be submitted in person at the local OMV

Top