How to get a handicap parking permit in Rhode Island (RI)

Rhode Island handicapped parking sign with details of the penalty for offenders

Rhode Island handicapped parking sign with details of the penalty for offenders

Eligibility
How to obtain a permit
Fee
Validity / expiration of permits
Renewals
Lost, stolen, or damaged placards
Where to hang the placard

Who’s eligible?

Eligible candidates must be Rhode Island residents and include those who

  • cannot move without an assisting device such as a brace, crutch, cane, wheelchair, prosthetic device, another person;
  • suffers from lung disease to such an extent that forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for 1 second, when measured by spirometry, is less than 1 liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest;
  • needs portable oxygen;
  • has a cardiac condition to the extent that functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to standards set by the American Heart Association; or
  • is legally blind or has visual acuity of 20/200 or worse in the better eye with corrective lenses.
How to obtain a permit

Applicants must complete the New/Renewal Disability Parking Placard application and have their physician sign the relevant portion of the application to certify the disability. The form is available at any DMV office or online. Once  must then be mailed to

Division of Motor Vehicles
Disability Parking Placards Office
600 New London Avenue
Cranston, RI 02920-3024
Fee

There is no fee required to obtain a handicap parking placard.

Validity/expiration of placards/permits

A temporary placard is issued for a minimum of 2 months and a maximum of 6 months. Placards for long-term conditions are issued for 1-3 years. Permanent placards are valid for more than 3 years.

Renewing placards

Placards can be renewed using the same application as was used to request a new permit.

Lost placard/replacement

Forms for lost, stolen, or worn placards are available at any DMV office or online. Holders of lost placards must complete an affidavit, holders of worn placards must return them to any DMV office, and holders of stolen placards must report the theft to the local police office and bring a copy of the police report to any DMV office or mail it to the address listed above.

Where to hang the placard/permit

The placard must be hung from the rear view mirror so that it is visible from the front and rear windshield of the vehicle.

Difficulty

Source URL

Forms from the Rhode Island DMV

 

Things You’ll Need

Applicable Fee: No charge
Computer with Internet Access: Favorable but not mandatory
Physician Certificate: Physician to certify disability in the application form
Mail Original Documents: Original application to be submitted by mail