How to get a handicap parking permit in Oklahoma (OK)

Oklahoma handicapped parking sign with details of the penalty for offenders

Oklahoma handicapped parking sign

How to obtain a permit
Validity / expiration of permits
Lost, stolen, or damaged placards
Where to hang the placard

Who’s eligible?

A person is eligible to receive a physical disability parking placard if he or she

  • cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest;
  • must use portable oxygen;
  • cannot walk without the use of or assistance from a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair or other assistant device;
  • is restricted to such an extent that the person’s forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for 1 liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 MM/HG on room air at rest;
  • has functional limitations that are classified in severity as Class III or IV according to standards set by the American Heart Association;
  • is severly limited in his or her ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition, or conditions due to pregnancy;
  • is certified legally blind; or
  • is missing one or more limbs, which impairs mobility.
How to obtain a permit

Applicants must complete the Physical Disability Parking Placard form, which must be certified by a physician, physician assistant, or advanced registered nurse practitioner attesting that the applicant has a physical disability. The completed form must then be mailed to

Department of Public Safety
Driver Compliance Div. – Physical Disability
PO Box 11415
Oklahoma City, OK 73136-0415

There is no fee for placards.

Validity/expiration of placards/permits

Permanent placards are valid for 5 years. Temporary placards are valid for the duration of the disability, which shall not exceed 6 months.

Renewing placards

Applicants who wish to renew placards must follow the same procedure for requesting a new permit.

Lost placard/replacement

In case a placard is lost or destroyed, the owner may apply for a replacement in writing to the Department of Public Safety. The replacement placard will be issued with the same expiration date as the original placard.

Where to hang the placard/permit

The placard must be hung from the rear view mirror so that it is visible from the front and rear windshield of the vehicle.


 Source URL

Physical Disability Temporary Placard 

Things You’ll Need

Applicable Fee: $1.00 for a disabled parking permit
Computer with Internet Access: Favorable but not mandatory
Physician Certificate: Physician to certify disability in the application form
Mail Original Documents: Original application to be submitted by mail