myparkingpermit.com

Contact us

How to get a handicap parking permit in Indiana (IN)

Indiana handicapped parking sign with details of the penalty for offenders

Indiana handicapped parking sign

Eligibility
How to obtain a permit
Fee
Validity / expiration of permits
Renewals
Lost, stolen, or damaged placards
Where to hang the placard
Miscellaneous

Who’s eligible?

A disability parking permit placard is available to Indiana residents and out-of-state residents receiving treatment in Indiana and who meet one of the following requirements:

  • has a permanent or temporary physical disability that requires the use of a wheelchair, walker, braces, or crutches;
  • has temporarily or permanently lost the use of one or both legs;
  • has restricted mobility (either temporarily or permanently) due to a pulmonary or cardiovascular disability, arthritic condition, or orthopedic or neurological impairment; or
  • is permanently blind or visually impaired.
How to obtain a permit

The applicant must fill out an Application For Disability Parking Placard Or Disability Plate (State Form 42070), which must be certified by a physician with a valid and unrestricted licensed. The completed form can be returned to any Indiana license branch or the address on the form.

Fee

A temporary disability parking placard costs $5.00. A permanent disability parking placard is free.

Validity/expiration of placards/permits

A permanent placard will only expire upon a physician’s certification that the disability is no longer considered permanent. A temporary placard is valid for up to 6 months or until the date indicated by physician certifying the application, whichever comes first.

Renewing your placards

Only temporary placards can be renewed. Applicants must again complete an Application For Disability Parking Placard Or Disability Plate (State Form 42070), which must be certified by a physician with a valid and unrestricted licensed. The completed form, as well as the $5 fee, can be dropped off at any Indiana license branch or the address on the form.

Lost placard/replacement

Applicants must visit the license agency to replace a placard. No replacement fee is charged for issuing a duplicate card to someone who is permanently disabled. Placard holders with temporary disabilities, however, have to pay $5.00 to reissue the lost, stolen, or damaged placard.

Where to hang the placard/permit

The placard must be displayed on the dashboard when the vehicle is parked in the designated parking space.

Miscellaneous

One does not need to display the placard on the dashboard when the vehicle has a handicapped license plate, handicapped veteran’s plate, or plate from another state.

Difficulty

Source URL

Drivers With Disabilities

Things You’ll Need

Applicable Fee: $5.00 for a temporary placard
Computer with Internet Access: Favorable but not mandatory
Physician Certificate: Physician to certify disability in the application form
Mail Original Documents: Original application to be submitted in person or by mail

Top