How to get a handicap parking permit in Hawaii (HI)

Hawaii-handicap-parking-permit-signs

Hawaii handicapped parking sign with details of the penalty for offenders

Eligibility
How to obtain a permit
Fee
Validity / expiration of permits
Renewals
Lost, stolen, or damaged placards
Where to hang the placard

Who’s eligible?

If a person has one of the following conditions, then he/she is eligible to receive a parking permit:

  • Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest due to a diagnosed arthritic, neurological, orthopedic, renal, vascular or oncological condition;
  • Cannot walk without the use of or assistance from a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair or other assistive device;
  • Restricted breathing due to lung disease to such an extent that the forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for 1 second (when measured by spirometry) is less than 1 liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest;
  • Uses portable oxygen; or
  • A cardiac condition to the extent that functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to American Heart Association standards.
How to obtain a permit

Applicants must provide proof of identity and have their disability certified by a physician holding a license to practice in the state; certifications from naturopathic physicians (NDs) are allowed.

Applications are available online or at the county issuing site, where the completed forms must be submitted. Instructions for completing the application form are available here.

Fee

There is no fee to be paid for a permanent disability parking placard, but there is a $12.00 fee to obtain a temporary disability parking placard. A second temporary disability parking placard is available for $12.00.

Validity/expiration of placards/permits

A permanent disability parking placard is valid for at least 6 years, while a temporary disability parking placard is valid for 1 to 6 months.

Renewing your permit/placard

Permanent placards must be renewed every 6 years. Applicants can apply up to 60 days before the expiration date and submit the Person With a Disability Parking Permit Application to the issuing agency by mail. The application must contain certification of your disability by a licensed physician with a license to practice in the state.

Lost placard/replacement

The application for lost or stolen placards is processed at a satellite city hall or county issuing site for a $12 fee. Mutilated placards are replaced at no charge.

Where to hang the placard/permit

The placard must be displayed on the rearview mirror when the vehicle is stationary but removed when the vehicle is in motion.

Difficulty

Source URL

Disability and Communication Access Board
Administrative Rules Title 11, Chapter 219
Procedure to obtain a parking permit for persons with disabilities

Things You’ll Need

Applicable Fee: $12.00 for a temporary placard
Computer with Internet Access: Favorable but not mandatory
Physician Certificate: Physician to certify disability in the application form
Mail Original Documents: Original application along with proof of identity to be submitted in person or by mail