How to get a handicap parking permit in Florida (FL)

Florida-handicap-parking-permit-signs

Florida handicapped parking sign with details of the penalty for offenders

Eligibility
How to obtain a permit
Fee
Validity / expiration of permits
Renewals
Lost, stolen, or damaged placards
Where to hang the placard
Miscellaneous

Who’s eligible?

A person is eligible to receive a disabled parking placard if he/she

  • uses portable oxygen;
  • has a cardiac condition classified as Class III or Class IV according to American Heart Association standards;
  • has an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition that severely limits his/her ability to walk;
  • needs to permanently use a wheelchair;
  • is restricted by a lung disease to the extent that his/her forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for 1 second, when measured by spirometry, is less than 1 liter or his/her arterial oxygen is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest; or
  • cannot walk without the use of or assistance from a brace, can, crutch, prosthetic or other assistive device, or without the assistance of another person. If the assistive device significantly restores his/her ability to walk to the extent that he/she can walk without severe limitation, he/she will no longer be eligible for the exemption parking permit.
How to obtain a permit

The applicant must complete Form HSMV 83039 and submit it to the local county tax collector’s license plate agency.

Applicants who have previously completed Form HSMV 83039 and had it signed by a certifying authority within the last 12 months can apply via mail or in person at the local tax collector office or license plate agency. Applicants who choose the latter option should bring a copy of their Florida driver’s license or ID card.

Fee

There is no fee for a permanent disability parking placard. There is a $15.00 fee for temporary placards.

Validity/expiration of placards/permits

Permanent placards are issued for a period up to 4 years and expire on June 30th. Temporary placards are issued up to 6 months.

Renewing your permit/placard

Individuals wishing to renew their placards must submit a completed certificate of disability (Form HSMV 83039) signed by the certifying authority within the previous 12 months. It can be submitted to the tax collector office or tag agency.

Lost placard/replacement

Lost or stolen placards can be replaced by submitting Form HSMV 83039 signed by the applicant’s certifying authority within the last 12 months. The completed form can be submitted to the tax collector office or tag agency.

Where to hang the placard/permit

The permit must hang on the rear view mirror of any vehicle used to transport the disabled person(s). The permit number must be visible from the front of the vehicle.

Miscellaneous

All parking permits must have a valid decal. Only parking permits with a yellow decal are valid.

Difficulty

Source URL

Disabled Parking Permit Laws
FAQs on Disabled Parking Placards
Application for Disabled Parking Permit (PDF Form)
Dos and Don’ts of Using a Florida Disabled Parking Permit

Things You’ll Need

Applicable Fee: $15.00 for a temporary placard
Computer with Internet Access: Favorable but not mandatory
Physician Certificate: Physician to certify disability in the application form
Mail Original Documents: Original application to be submitted in person or by mail